عن بينالي الشارقة

يعد بينالي الشارقة منصة دولية للعرض والتجريب لفنانين من المنطقة وخارجها. منذ عام 1993، قام بينالي الشارقة بتكليف وإنتاج وتقديم أعمال تركيبية عامة ضخمة، وعروض أداء، وأفلام لفنانين من جميع أنحاء العالم، مما جلب مجموعة واسعة من الفنون المعاصرة والبرامج الثقافية والمنتجين للمجتمعات في الشارقة والإمارات العربية المتحدة والمنطقة. من القيّمين السابقين لبينالي الشارقة: زوي بُت، عمر خليف، كلير تانكونس، كريستين طعمة، أنجي جو، يوكو هاسيكاوا، سوزان كوتر، رشا سلطي، هايك إيفزيان، إيزابيل كارلوس، طارق أبو الفتوح، محمد كاظم، جوناثان واتكينز، إيفا شارر، جاك برسكيان، كين لوم، تيرداد زولغادر، بيتر لويس وحور القاسمي.

يقدّم "بينالي الشارقة 15: التاريخ حاضراً" الذي تقيّمه الشيخة حور القاسمي رئيس مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، فعالياته في أكثر من 16 موقعاً في جميع أنحاء إمارة الشارقة. تتأسس هذه النسخة من البينالي التي تضم ما يزيد عن 150 فناناً من أكثر 70 دولة على رؤية الباحث والناقد الراحل أوكوي إينوزور وتصوراته العميقة التي غيّرت الفن المعاصر وتركت تأثيراً على تطور المؤسسات والبيناليات في جميع أنحاء العالم، بما في ذلك بينالي الشارقة. يصاحب المعرض برنامج متميز من العروض السينمائية والموسيقية والأدائية، سيتم الإعلان عنه في وقت لاحق من هذا العام.

رأى إينوزور أن معارض الفن المعاصر تشكل وسيلة للانخراط في التاريخ والسياسة والمجتمع والتفاعل معها في الوقت الحاضر على المستوى العالمي، وعليه فقد وضع تصوّراً للدعوة لتقييم هذه النسخة بوصفها طريقة للمساهمة في تاريخ كل من البينالي والمؤسسة بشكل عام، وكذلك وسيلة لاستكشاف دورهما في معالجة الحاجة إلى نماذج مؤسسية تدعم إنتاج وعرض الفن المعاصر خارج الأطر الغربية، وتفعيل حوار يستجيب لمتطلبات عصرنا.

واحتفاءً بالذكرى الثلاثين لبينالي الشارقة، كان إينوزور قد اقترح أيضاً تكليف 30 عملاً خلال البينالي كوسيلة لتفعيل هذه المنصة المهمة بصورة هادفة من خلال التأسيس لمفهوم عملي جديد، وفي هذا الإطار، دعت المؤسسة 30 فناناً للشروع في تنفيذ تكليفات رئيسة لاستكشاف التواريخ التي تصيغ حاضرنا، وهم: جون أكومفرا، قادر عطية، سامي بالوجي، ماريا ماجدالينا كامبوس بونس، كارولينا كايسيدو، ديستني ديكون، مانثيا ديوارا، كوكو فوسكو، حسن حجاج، منى حاطوم، لبينا حميد، إسحاق جوليان، عمار كانوار، بشرى خليلي، محمد إبراهيم مهاما، كيري جيمس مارشال ، ستيف ماكوين، ألماغول مينليباييفا، ألين موتا، وانجيتشي موتو، فيليب بارينو، دوريس سالسيدو، بيرني سيرل، ينكا شونيبار، فيفان سوندارام، فاطمة توجار، هجرة وحيد، باربرا والكر، ناري وارد وكاري ماي ويمس.

وإلى جانب حور القاسمي قيّمة بينالي الشارقة "التاريخ حاضراً"، سوف تعمل على إنجاز هذه النسخة مجموعة عمل بينالي الشارقة 15 المؤلفة من: طارق أبو الفتوح (قيّم مستقل)؛ أوتي ميتا باور (أستاذ جامعي والمدير المؤسس لمركز الفن المعاصر في جامعة نانيانغ التكنولوجية في سنغافورة)؛ صلاح محمد حسن (أستاذ جامعي ومؤرخ فني، جامعة كورنيل ومدير معهد إفريقيا، الشارقة)؛ تشيكا أوكي-أجولو (أستاذة جامعية ومؤرخة فنية، جامعة برينستون)؛ وأوكتافيو زايا (قيّم مستقل وكاتب فني ومدير تنفيذي لمؤسسة الفن الكوبية). كما ستشرف القاسمي ومجموعة العمل على تطور مفهوم التقييم لدى إينوزور وسبل تنفيذه بالتعاون مع اللجنة الاستشارية التي تضم: السير ديفيد أدجاي (مهندس معماري)، وكريستين طعمة (مديرة أشكال ألوان، بيروت).

About Sharjah Biennial

The Sharjah Biennial is an international platform for exhibition and experimentation for artists from the region and beyond. Since 1993, the Sharjah Biennial has commissioned, produced and presented large-scale public installations, performances and films by artists around the world, bringing a broad range of contemporary art, cultural programmes and producers to the communities of Sharjah, the UAE and the region. Prior Sharjah Biennial curators include: Zoe Butt, Omar Kholeif, Claire Tancons, Christine Tohme, Eungie Joo, Yuko Hasegawa, Suzanne Cotter, Rasha Salti, Haig Aivazian, Isabel Carlos, Tarek Abou El Fetouh, Mohammed Kazem, Jonathan Watkins, Eva Scharrer, Jack Persekian, Ken Lum, Tirdad Zolghadr, Peter Lewis and Hoor Al Qasimi.

Sharjah Biennial 15 (SB15), titled Thinking Historically in the Present, conceived by the late Okwui Enwezor and curated by Hoor Al Qasimi, Director of Sharjah Art Foundation, reflects on Enwezor’s visionary work, which transformed contemporary art and established an ambitious intellectual project that has influenced the evolution of institutions and biennials around the world, including the Sharjah Biennial. Bringing together more than 150 artists from over 70 countries, SB15 will take place in 16 venues across the emirate of Sharjah. A robust programme of film, music and performance, to be announced later this year, will accompany the exhibition.
For Enwezor, the contemporary art exhibition provided a means to engage with history, politics and society in our global present. He envisioned the invitation to curate this edition of Sharjah Biennial as a way to reflect on and contribute to the Biennial’s history and that of the overarching Foundation, and their role in addressing the need for institutional models outside of the West that support dialogue and the production and presentation of contemporary art responsive to our times.

Enwezor proposed commissioning 30 works for SB15 to celebrate Sharjah Biennial’s 30-year anniversary and to activate this critical platform through the development of new productions. In line with this framework, 30 artists have been invited to embark on commissions for SB15: John Akomfrah, Kader Attia, Sammy Baloji, María Magdalena Campos-Pons, Carolina Caceydo, Destiny Deacon, Manthia Diawara, Coco Fusco, Hassan Hajjaj, Mona Hatoum, Lubaina Himid, Isaac Julien, Amar Kanwar, Bouchra Khalili, Mohammed Ibrahim Mahama, Kerry James Marshall, Steve McQueen, Almagul Menlibayeva, Aline Motta, Wangechi Mutu, Philippe Parreno, Doris Salcedo, Berni Searle, Yinka Shonibare, Vivan Sundaram, Fatimah Tuggar, Hajra Waheed, Barbara Walker, Nari Ward and Carrie Mae Weems.

SB15 is curated by Hoor Al Qasimi, with the support of the SB15 Working Group, comprised of Tarek Abou El Fetouh (independent curator); Ute Meta Bauer (professor and Founding Director of NTU CCA Singapore); Salah M. Hassan (professor and art historian, Cornell University, and Director of The Africa Institute, Sharjah); Chika Okeke-Agulu (professor and art historian, Princeton University); and Octavio Zaya (independent curator, art writer and Executive Director of the Cuban Art Foundation). Al Qasimi and the Working Group are overseeing the development and implementation of the Biennial with an Advisory Committee that includes Sir David Adjaye (architect) and Christine Tohmé (Director, Ashkal Alwan, Beirut).