صورة للعمل الفني

التنقیب في تاریخ الهویة البصریة في السنوات الأولى لتأسیس دولة الإمارات (1965 - 1975)

عرض جميع الصور
التنقیب في تاریخ الهویة البصریة في السنوات الأولى لتأسیس دولة الإمارات (1965 - 1975) Image

 Image

إغلاق الصور
 Image

نظرة عامة

كيف نشأت الهوية البصرية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة؟ ما هي الأدوات المختلفة التي استخدمتها الإمارات لتمييز نفسها وثقافتها عن الأمم الأخرى؟ كيف تعبّر الثقافة البصريةعن الخصوصية والقيم والطموحات والمميزات الخاصة بهذا المكان؟ وما هي المعاني الرمزية الكامنة خلف هذا التعبير؟ سيُقدّم هذا العرض مشروعاً بحثياً جديداً أطلقته مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون يُركّز على بناء الهوية البصرية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة خلال سنوات التأسيس (1975 - 1965) وهي فترة مثيرة للاهتمام على نحو خاص نظراً لأنها تجمع الظروف التي أحاطت بوقت الاستقلال وكيف كانت بداية تشكّل الهوية البصرية. سيدور النقاش ضمن إطار السياق الاجتماعي-الاقتصادي وكذلك السياق الاقتصادي والسياسي. وستُعرض بعض الملاحظات القائمة على مواد وعناصر ثقافية تم استخدامها في ذلك الوقت مثل الرايات والطوابع والعملات واللباس والمستلزمات والقصص المحكية والصور الضوئية.

جاك برسكيان

جاك برسكيان: مواليد القدس، يعيش ويعمل بين الشارقة والقدس. مدير مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون. يشغل منصب المدير الفني لبينالي الشارقة منذ عام 2004 . مؤسس ومدير غاليري أناديل، ومؤسسة المعمل للفن المعاصر في القدس، وزين للإنتاج. عمل قيماً للعديد من المعارض منها: اغتراب مرة ثانية، منارة السعديات في جزيرة السعديات، أبوظبي 2009 . أبداً،لن أفارق، متحف الفنون الجميلة، بروكسل 2008 . اشترك مع رم كولهاس بإعداد معرض دبي قادمة، في متحف فيترا للتصميم، ألمانيا 2008 . قام بإطلاق وإدارة مشروع: على أبوا ب الجنة منذ عام 2007 ، مؤسسة المعمل للفن المعاصر في القدس. أنتج مجموعة من الأفلام القصيرة منها: بينالي الشارقة 9، 2009 . طنّش تعش، 2008 . ابني 2005.

ناديا منجِّد

تدرّبت ناديا منجِّد كمهندسة معمارية في دمشق، وهي تحمل شهادة دكتوراه في هندسة العمارة من جامعة شفيلد وماجستير في التصميم المعماري من يونيفيرسيتي كوليج لندن.يركّز بحثها على الخصائص الاجتماعية والفردية في الهندسة المعمارية، وهي تعمل حالياً كأستاذ مساعد لهندسة العمارة في الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة، كما أنها مستشار أبحاثفي مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون.

شارمين سيد

درست شارمين سيد الهندسة المعمارية والتصميم الحضري- المدني في الجامعة الأمريكية في الشارقة، وتعمل حالياً كمهندسة معمارية وباحثة في مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، كما أنهاعضو في فريق الهندسة المعمارية والتصميم في المؤسسة وفي مشروع المساحات الفنية وكذلك في بينالي الشارقة 10 ؛ وهي باحثة في مشروع الهوية البصرية الخاص بالإمارات العربية المتحدة.

فيديو التنقیب في تاریخ الهویة البصریة في السنوات الأولى لتأسیس دولة الإمارات (1965 - 1975)

الرعاة

Sharjah Art Foundation

March Meeting 2011

3-Day Cultural Symposium on ongoing and future art and cultural initiatives by professionals from across the globe

An Archeology of Visual Identity: The History of the UAE Visual Identity in the Formative Years (1965 - 1975)

March Meeting 2011
An Archeology of Visual Identity: The History of the UAE Visual Identity in the Formative Years (1965 - 1975)
Jack Persekian, Nadia Mounajjed, Sharmeen Syed

View all images
An Archeology of Visual Identity: The History of the UAE Visual Identity in the Formative Years (1965 - 1975) Image

March Meeting 2011
An Archeology of Visual Identity: The History of the UAE Visual Identity in the Formative Years (1965 - 1975)
Sharmeen Syed

 Image

March Meeting 2011
An Archeology of Visual Identity: The History of the UAE Visual Identity in the Formative Years (1965 - 1975)
Jack Persekian, Nadia Mounajjed, Sharmeen Syed

Close images
 Image

Overview

An Archaeology of Visual Identity grew from the impetus of Sharjah Art Foundation to become not just a recipient and platform for artists and practitioners, but also a producer of knowledge. With a void in research on visual culture in the UAE since its formation, the project has focused on the years between 1965 and 1975 and aims to put in place the tools and mechanisms to support research into local visual identity, without prescribing a fixed outcome.

Presentation Proposal

How did visual identity emerge in the UAE? What were the different tools used by the Emiratis to distinguish themselves and their culture from other nations? How did visual culture express the specificity, values, ambitions and characteristics of this place? And what are the symbolic meanings behind this expression? This presentation will introduce a new research project initiated by Sharjah Art Foundation that focuses on the construction of visual identity in the United Arab Emirates during the formative years from 1965 to 1975. This period is particularly interesting as it captures the conditions that surrounded the moment of independence and how visual identity was first shaped. The discussion will be framed within a socio-cultural, economic and political context. We will share some observations based on materials and cultural elements that were used at the time, from flags to stamps, currencies, dress codes, accessories, oral accounts and photographs.

Jack Persekian

Jack Persekian is the former Director of Sharjah Art Foundation. He is Founder and Director of Anadiel Gallery, the Al-Ma’mal Foundation for Contemporary Art in Jerusalem and XEIN Productions. Persekian’s recently curated exhibitions include “Disorientation II: the Rise and Fall of Arab Cities,” Manarat Al Saadiyat, Saadiyat Island, Abu Dhabi (2009); “Dubai Next,” co-curated with Rem Koolhaas at Vitra Design Museum, Weil am Rhein, Germany (2008) and “The Jerusalem Show,” Al-Ma’mal Foundation, Jerusalem (2007-10). A writer and lecturer on Middle Eastern art and culture, he has also directed and produced a series of short films and videos, including Sharjah Biennial 9 (2009), Forgive and Forget (2008) and My Son (2005).

Nadia Mounajjed

Nadia Mounajjed was trained as an architect in Damascus. She holds a PhD in Architecture from the University of Sheffield, and an MA in Architectural Design from University College London. Her research focuses on the social and the individual in architecture. Mounajjed is currently Assistant Professor of Architecture at the American University of Sharjah. She is also the Research Advisor for Sharjah Art Foundation.

Sharmeen Syed

Sharmeen Syed studied Architecture and Urban Design at the American University of Sharjah and is currently working as Architect and Researcher at Sharjah Art Foundation. She is part of the Architecture and Design team for Sharjah Art Foundation Art Spaces Project and Sharjah Biennial 10 and is a researcher for the UAE visual identity project.

An Archeology of Visual Identity: The History of the UAE Visual Identity in the Formative Years (1965 - 1975)

Sponsors