أغنية رولاند: النسخة العربية، 2017

وائل شوقي
"أغنية رولاند: النسخة العربية"، 2017
لقطة لعرض الأداء: كامبناغل، مسرح دير ويلت، هامبورغ
إنتاج كامبناغل هامبورغ؛ شارك في الإنتاج مهرجان مسرح دير ويلت 2017، مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون،
مهرجان هولاندا، مركز أوناسيس الثقافي في أثينا ومسرح سبيكتيكل في زيورخ
بتمويل من الوكالة الاتحادية للتربية المدنية، ألمانيا.
تصوير: جانتو جاسي

نظرة عامة

كجزء من لقاء مارس 2018 تعرض مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، للمرة الأولى في منطقة الشرق الأوسط "أغنية رولاند: النسخة العربية" (2017) للفنان وائل شوقي في إمارة الشارقة يوم17 مارس 2018.

يواصل وائل شوقي اكتشافاته ومعايناته للقصص التاريخية في عمله الفني "أغنية رولاند: النسخة العربية"، وهو عمل مسرحي موسيقي ضخم سيعرض متأسس على ملحمة شعرية فرنسية بعنوان "لا تشانسون دي رولاند"، وقد تُرجِمت إلى اللغة العربية الفصحى، وسيتم إحياؤه من قبل 20 موسيقياً ومغنياً من دولة الإمارات العربية ومملكة البحرين يؤدون فيه نمطاً غنائياً تراثياً يعرف بـ "لفجري" وهو مرتبط بغواصي اللؤلؤ في الخليج العربي.

يجمع عرض أداء شوقي بين تقاليد الشعر السردي المتباينة والغنية، وهو يستند إلى عمل فرنسي أدبي هام من القرن الحادي عشر كُتِبَ في زمن شارلمان، يمجّد فيه عهد الإمبراطور وفتوحاته إلى جانب الحرب البطولية التي شنّها ابن أخيه رولاند ضد السراسين (وهو مصطلح يستخدم لوصف المسلمين العرب). تمت ترجمة هذا النص إلى اللغة العربية الفصحى وفقاً لموسيقى "الفجري"، التي تعود جذورها لأكثر من 800 عام في منطقة الخليج العربي. اشتهر مغنو "الفجري" بعروضهم المنفردة التعبيرية وعروض النداء والرد "الكورالية" المصاحبة للآلات الإيقاعية والرقص المستوحى من الفنون البحرية.

بدأ العمل على الإنتاج في مارس 2017 حينما شارك وائل شوقي في برنامج الإقامة الفنية في مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون. خلال فترة إقامته، عمل شوقي على استقطاب الموسيقيين وإجراء التدريبات في إمارة الشارقة، وبعد ذلك في البحرين. وعملت المؤسسة بشكل وثيق مع الفنان لإنتاج ملابس تاريخية من الكتان والحرير مستوحاة من الفترة التي تضمنت عناصر الشروال والجلابية. كما ساعد فريق التصميم الغرافيكي في المؤسسة على تطوير السينوغرافيا، والرسوم والمنمنات وخرائط مدن مثل حلب ودمشق واسطنبول في القرون الوسطى.

مشروع "أغنية رولاند" مبني على عدد من مشاريع شوقي الرئيسة، من ضمنها "كباريه الحروب الصليبية"، وهي ثلاثية فيلمية تشمل "ملفات العرض المرعب" (2010)، و"الطريق إلى القاهرة" (2012) و"أسرار كربلاء" (2015)، وقد ساهمت مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون بدعم جزئي لها، إلى جانب عرض أداء الفنان "أقوال 10:120" الذي تم تكليفه به لصالح بينالي الشارقة 11 (2013)، حيث تم تطويره من خلال سلسلة من ورش العمل الفعّالة لفريق الإنتاج في مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون.


يتبع عرض مارس 2018 في إمارة الشارقة عروض أداء في هامبورغ كامبناغل كجزء من مهرجان مسرح دير ويلت 2017، ومهرجان هولاند في أمستردام، ومسرح زورشر سبكتاكيل في زيورخ، ومركز أوناسيس الثقافي في أثينا.

"أغنية رولاند: النسخة العربية" من إنتاج كامبناغل، هامبورغ، بالتعاون مع مهرجان مسرح دير ويلت 2017، و مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، و مهرجان هولاند، ومركز أوناسيس الثقافي في أثينا ومسرح زورشر سبكتاكيل في زيورخ. بتمويل من الوكالة الاتحادية للتربية المدنية، ألمانيا.

عرض الأداء هذا بدعم من شور.

كافة فعاليات مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون مجانية ومتاحة للجميع.

مواضيع ذات صلة

أغنية رولاند: النسخة العربية

وائل شوقي

يستعمل وائل شوقي طيفاً من الوسائط لكي ينتج أعماله التي يستكشف فيها قضايا التاريخ والدين والثقافة وتأثيرات العولمة على المجتمعات المعاصرة.

الرعاة

The Song of Roland: The Arabic Version, 2017

Wael Shawky
The Song of Roland: The Arabic Version, 2017
Performance view: Kampnagel, Theater der Welt, Hamburg
Produced by Kampnagel Hamburg; co-produced by Theater der Welt Festival 2017, Sharjah Art Foundation, Holland Festival, Onassis Cultural Centre Athens and Theaterspektakel Zürich
Funded by the Federal Agency for Civic Education, Germany
Photo: Janto Djassi

Overview

As part of Sharjah Art Foundation’s March Meeting 2018, Wael Shawky’s The Song of Roland: The Arabic Version (2017) will have its Middle East debut in Sharjah on 17 March 2018.

Shawky continues his exploration and interrogation of historical narratives in The Song of Roland: The Arabic Version, a large-scale music and theatre performance based on the French epic poem La Chanson de Roland. Translated into classical Arabic, the work will be brought to life by 20 fidjeri singers and musicians from the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain, who will perform in the traditional style of Arabian Gulf pearl divers.

Shawky’s performance brings together two rich but disparate traditions of narrative verse. He draws on a major work of eleventh-century French literature written in the time of Charlemagne, which glorifies both the emperor’s reign and conquests and his nephew Roland’s heroic war against the Saracens (a term used to describe Muslim Arabs). The fidjeri music, to which the classical Arabic translation and adaptation of this text are set, has its roots in the Arabian Gulf and dates back more than 800 years. Famed for their expressive solos and call-and-response choral performances, the fidjeri singers are accompanied by percussion instruments and informal choreography.

Work on the production began in March 2017, when Wael Shawky participated in a residency at Sharjah Art Foundation. During this time, Shawky worked to locate musicians and undertake rehearsals in Sharjah, and later, in Bahrain. The foundation worked closely with the artist to produce period-inspired linen and silk costuming that incorporated sherwal and jalabiya elements. The foundation’s graphic designers also helped develop the scenography, drawing on miniature paintings and medieval maps of cities such as Aleppo, Damascus and Istanbul.

The Song of Roland builds on a number of major projects by Shawky, including Cabaret Crusades, the landmark film trilogy comprising The Horror Show Files (2010) The Path to Cairo (2012) and The Secrets of Karbala (2015), which was in part supported by Sharjah Art Foundation, as well as the artist’s performance Dictums 10:120, commissioned for Sharjah Biennial 11 (2013), which was developed through a series of workshops engaging members of the foundation’s production team.

The March 2018 presentation in Sharjah follows performances at Hamburg’s Kampnagel as part of the Theatre der Welt 2017 Festival, the Holland Festival in Amsterdam, Zürcher Theater Spektakel in Zurich and the Onassis Cultural Centre in Athens.

The Song of Roland: The Arabic Version is produced by Kampnagel, Hamburg and is co-produced by Theater der Welt Festival 2017, Sharjah Art Foundation, Holland Festival, Onassis Cultural Centre-Athens and Zürcher Theater Spektakel. It is funded by the Federal Agency for Civic Education, Germany.

Related Content

The Song of Roland: The Arabic Version

Shawky, Wael

In photographs, installations, videos and performances, Wael Shawky mines traditions of entertainment and performance through multilayered historical reconstructions.

Sponsors

Sponsors