مرئيات

ساحة المريجة

تقع صالات العرض المعاصرة لمؤسسة الشارقة للفنون في ساحة المريجة إلى جانب سلسلة من المنازل التراثية المرممة والأسوار الحجرية المرجانية. افتتحت الساحة بالتزامن مع بينالي الشارقة 11 (2013). توفر المباني الجديدة مساحة مرنة ومعتدلة الأجواء، لعرض الأعمال الفنية متعددة الوسائط، بالإضافة إلى الأعمال الكبيرة والتقنية المختلفة.

عرض جميع الصور
ساحة المريجة Image

تتيح الواجهات الزجاجية والنوافذ والمناور، إضاءة طبيعية ومجالات رؤية بصرية تطلّ على الساحات الأساسية والممرات التي تتضمن لمحات من معالم العمارة التراثية.

عرض تقديمي فردي من أعمال فنية للفنانة سيمون فتال، 2016.
لقطة للعمل الفني.

 Image

عرض تقديمي فردي لآخر أعمال الفنان وائل شوقي، "الفرسان يعشقون الطيور وحكايات أخرى"، 2014. لقطة للعمل الفني.

 Image

ريان تابت، "قبرص"، 2015. لقطة للعمل الفني. بينالي الشارقة 12.

 Image

يوفر محيط السطح المترابط، مساحة قابلة للتكيف مع المشاريع وعروض الأداء والتجمعات.

غابرييل لستر، "فايو-فاتا"، 2013. لقطة للعمل الفني، بينالي الشارقة 11.

 Image

يُكّمل هذه المباني الجديدة عددٌ من المنازل التراثية المرممة، والأسوار الحجرية المرجانية والساحات التي تستخدم في تنظيم المعارض والبرامج العامة، بما في ذلك حديقة مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون وسينما سراب المدينة.

إغلاق الصور
 Image

مرئيات

ساحة الخط

تستخدم المباني التراثية في ساحة الخط كمساحة عرض مؤقتة لبينالي الشارقة ومشاريع أخرى تابعة لمؤسسة الشارقة للفنون. تعد هذه المنطقة مقراً للعديد من الهيئات والمبادرات الفنية والثقافية في الشارقة، بما في ذلك متحف الشارقة للخط، ملتقى الشارقة للخط، بيت الخطاطين ومتحف الشارقة للتراث.

سناء، "فقاعة"، 2013. لقطة للعمل الفني، بينالي الشارقة 11.

عرض جميع الصور
ساحة الخط Image

تصل ساحة الخط العربي ما بين ساحة الفنون وساحة المريجة. تستخدم هذه الساحة الكبيرة المسماة بساحة الخط العربي لمشاريع بينالي الشارقة.

كارلوس أمورالس، "سنرى كيف يتردد صدى ذلك كله"، ٢٠١٢. لقطة للعمل الفني، بينالي الشارقة 11.

إغلاق الصور
 Image

مرئيات

ساحة الفنون

تعد ساحة الفنون منطقة أساسية لبرامج مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون. يحاذيها سوق صقر الموازي لخور الشارقة، ومتحف الشارقة للفنون، بالإضافة إلى البيتين التراثيين المرممين، بيت عبيد الشامسي وبيت السركال.

مايدر لوبيز، "لعب كرة القدم"، ٢٠٠٧-٢٠٠٩. لقطة للعمل الفني، بينالي الشارقة 9.

عرض جميع الصور
ساحة الفنون Image

سمّي هذين المنزلين تيمّناً باسمي العائلتين المرموقتين اللتين امتلكتهما خلال فترة من الزمن، ويعدان ضمن المباني الفنية المخصصة لبرامج مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون. كما يتم استخدام متحف الشارقة للفنون أثناء فترة بينالي الشارقة، ويقع المتحف تحت إشراف إدارة متاحف الشارقة. تقدم المباني الثلاثة مزيجاً من مساحات العرض المعتدلة، وغرف ذات دعامات من خشب الصندل والجبس المرمّم، وساحات متفاوتة الأحجام وأسطح مطلة على خور الشارقة.

عرض تقديمي فردي لعمل فني من قبل الفنانة فريدة لاشاي، 2016.

 Image

معرض do it بالعربي، 2016.

إغلاق الصور
 Image

مرئيات

مواقع أخرى

يقع مصنع كلباء للفنون في مدينة كلباء على الساحل الشرقي للشارقة. ويعد هذا المبنى الشاهق الذي استخدم في السابق كمصنع للثلج؛ امتداداً لمؤسسة الشارقة للفنون في الساحل الشرقي للشارقة، وهو مجاور لحرم جامعة الشارقة بكلباء.

عرض جميع الصور
مواقع  أخرى Image

أدريان فيلار روخاس، "القبة"، 2015. لقطة للعمل الفني، بينالي الشارقة 12.

 Image

يتيح مبنى الطبق الطائر القريب من مركز مدينة الشارقة، إمكانية الوصول إليه بسهولة من قبل العديد من الأحياء السكنية، وقد كان بالأصل مقراً لمتجر بقالة، ومطعماً للوجبات السريعة. يعدّ المبنى تحفة معمارية تستحضر الكثير من الذكريات للأجيال التي نشأت في الشارقة.

"حول المعارض في الإمارات"، 2016

 Image

إغلاق الصور
 Image
  • حقائق

    ساحة المريجة
    المساحة الحضرية: 20,000 متر مربع

    6 مبانٍ معاصرة
    6 مبانٍ تاريخية
    مساحتان مفتوحتان
    مركز استعلامات
    حديقة مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون

    ساحة الخط العربي
    المساحة الحضرية: 10,000 متر مربع

    5 مبانٍ تاريخية
    مساحة مفتوحة

    ساحة الفنون
    المساحة الحضرية: 20,000 متر مربع

    مبنيان معاصران
    مبنى حديث
    مبنيان تاريخيان
    مساحة مفتوحة

    مواقع أخرى
    مبنى الطبق الطائر. دسمان، الشارقة.
    مصنع كلباء للثلج. الساحل الشرقي، الشارقة.

  • مخطط

    تقع المباني الفنية الجديدة لمؤسسة الشارقة للفنون في منطقة قلب الشارقة، وهي من المواقع المركزية التي تعدّ تمثّيلاً حضرياً متميزاً للهوية الثقافية والبيئية المتأصلة في مدينة الشارقة. تعد مباني مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون مشروعاً تنموياً حضرياً قائماً على التكيف وإعادة الاستعمال. تحاكي المباني كلاً من الواقع المادي الحالي للجزء الحضري، وتاريخ استخدامه في الماضي، بغية إعادة تنشيط المنطقة وتحفيز التلقّي العام للفن المعاصر، الأمر الذي يليق بالسياق الحضري الغني ثقافياً ذي الطبقات المتعددة.

    يتكون المشروع من خمسة مبانٍ للعرض، والتي توفر مجموعة واسعة من التصاميم الداخلية التي أُعدّت لخوض غمار التجربة الفنية، إلى جانب مجموعة متنوعة من المساحات الخارجية التي تحتوي على الساحات المسوّرة، والأزقة، والساحات المفتوحة والأسطح المتصلة. يتميز كل مبنى بحيّزٍ لافتٍ من حيث النوعية، والحجم، وخصائص الإضاءة، حيث ينتج طيفاً من أطر العمل الأكثر سياقية وتجريدية لعرض وإدراك الفن، دون أن يكون ثمة إفراط في استخدام مباني العرض برامجياً ومكانياً.

    واستجابة للسياق الحضري وأنماط الساحات، فقد حَوَّلَ التصميم المعماري ببراعة المساحات الداخلية السكنية الخاصة المحيطة بالساحة إلى مساحات أكثر مرونة، بحيث توفر تجربة اجتماعية ومكانية مشتركة حول الفن المعاصر.

    في محاولة للحفاظ على البصمة التاريخية للمكان على المستوى المفاهيمي، يعيد المشروع تقديم الآثار المعمارية الموجودة مسبقاً أو الموثّقة ضمن الخطة المعمارية، وإعادة تكييف العناصر التاريخية المعمارية والمادية للاستخدامات والظروف الجديدة، بغية تحقيق التوازن عند تصميم المساحات المعاصرة المفتوحة والمرنة، مع الاحتفاء بالخصائص الحضرية-التقليدية الفريدة. تشمل الجوانب التقليدية التي تم إحيائها عمرانياً: الجدران السميكة الخارجية، والأزقة المتعرجة، وأسطح المباني المتكاملة، التي استخدمت في الماضي كمساحات سكنية خارجية. وأصبح السطح امتداداً للفضاء الحضري، مقدماً مناظر للأزقة، والساحات، ومساحات العرض، لتعزيز تذوق العمل الفني. كما يقدّم السطح مناظر تمتد عبر الطبقات الحضرية مع مشاهد محدودة لخور الشارقة وآفاق الخليج.

    تُعرَض الأعمال الفنية في المساحات الخارجية لتمكين المشاهدين من استقراء المحيط المباشر والمعالم المجاورة له، فضلاً عن المواقع الممتدة مع طبقاتها التاريخية، بحيث تفضي إلى تجربة متكاملة تحوّل وتستقرئ سياقات الأعمال الفنية والمواقع على حد سواء.

    فريق التصميم المعماري لمؤسسة الشارقة للفنون
    منى المُصفي – مهندس معماري أول، مستشارة معمارية لمؤسسة الشارقة للفنون وممثلة للعملاء.
    شرمين سيّد – مهندسة معمارية وباحثة
    غودْوين أوستن جونسون – مهندسة ومستشارة معمارية

    النص مقتبس من البيان الذي كتب لمعرض جناح دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في بينالي فينيسيا للعمارة، 2014

Al Mureijah Square

Sharjah Art Foundations’ contemporary galleries are located in this square alongside a series of restored courtyard houses and coral stone enclosures. Inaugurated with Sharjah Biennial 11 (2013), the new buildings provide flexible, climate-controlled space for the presentation of works in various media, as well as those of large-scale and technical ambition.

View all images
Al Mureijah Square Image

Glass facades, windows and skylights offer natural light and visual sightlines to central courtyards and a network of walkways that incorporate adaptations of traditional architectural features.

Solo presentation of work by Simone Fattal, 2016
Installation view.

 Image

Solo presentation of recent works by Wael Shawky, Horsemen Adore Perfumes and other stories, 2014. Installation view.

 Image

Rayyane Tabet, Cyprus, 2015. Installation view, Sharjah Biennial 12.

 Image

An interconnected roof-scape provides adaptable space for projects, performances and gatherings.

Gabriel Lester, Vayu-Vata, 2013. Installation view, Sharjah Biennial 11.

 Image

Complimenting these new spaces are a number of restored traditional houses, coral stone enclosures and courtyards used for exhibitions and public programmes, including the SAF Urban Garden and the Mirage City Cinema.

Close images
 Image

Visuals

Calligraphy Square

The heritage buildings of Calligraphy Square serve as temporary exhibition space for the Sharjah Biennial and other SAF projects. This area is home to a number of Sharjah’s art and cultural institutions and initiatives including the Calligraphy Museum, the Calligraphy Biennial, Calligraphy Studios and the Sharjah Heritage Museum.

SANAA, Bubble, 2013. Installation view, Sharjah Biennial 11.

View all images
Calligraphy Square Image

Calligraphy Square bridges the space between Arts Square and Al Mureijah Square. The large courtyard for which the area is named is often used as a site for Sharjah Biennial projects.

Carlos Amorales, We’ll See How All Reverberates, 2012. Installation view, Sharjah Biennial 11.

Close images
 Image

Visuals

Art Square

Central to Sharjah Art Foundation (SAF) programming, Arts Square is demarcated by Souq Saqr that runs parallel to Sharjah Creek, the Sharjah Art Museum and the restored courtyard houses of Bait Obaid Al Shamsi and Bait Al Serkal.

Maider López, Football Field, 2007—2009. Installation View, Sharjah Biennial 9.

View all images
Art Square Image

The two houses, which once belonged to the prominent families for which they are named, provide dedicated space for SAF programming. The museum, programmed by the Sharjah Museum’s Department, is also used for the Sharjah Biennial. The three buildings offer a mixture of modestly scaled gallery spaces, restored plaster and chandal wood beam rooms, various size courtyards and roof terraces overlooking Sharjah Creek.

Solo presentation of work by Farideh Lashai, 2016.

 Image

do it بالعربي exhibition,2016.

Close images
 Image

Off-Site Venues

SAF also works in range of offsite venues and centres located in other neighbourhoods of Sharjah city and in urban areas and communities throughout the emirate. Many of the offsite venues were built in the 1970s at a time coinciding with the founding of the United Arab Emirates.

View all images
Off-Site Venues Image

The Kalba Art Factory is located in the city of Kalba on Sharjah’s East coast. The large, soaring structure, which once operated as an ice factory, now serves as SAF’s east coast outpost and neighbours the Kalba Campus of the University of Sharjah.

Adrián Villar Rojas, Planetarium, 2015. Installation view, Sharjah Biennial 12.

 Image

Close to the center of the city of Sharjah, the Flying Saucer is easily accessible from a number of residential neighbourhoods. Originally home to a grocery store and fast food restaurant, the building is an architectural landmark that conjures many memories for generations who grew up in Sharjah.

1980-Today: Exhibitions in the United Arab Emirates, 2016

 Image

Six art centres across the Central and Eastern region of the Emirate - Al Madam Art Centre, Al Dhaid Art Centre, Al Hamriya Art Centre, Kalba Art Centre, Khorfakkan Art Centre and Dibba Al Hisn Art Centre have become part of Sharjah Art Foundation in 2016. These centres focus on education and community outreach, offering painting, sculpture, calligraphy, ceramics and photography classes throughout the year, as well as a broad range of programmes and activities.

Close images
 Image
  • Facts

    Al Mureijah Square
    Urban Fragment: 20,000 sq m

    6 Contemporary buildings
    6 Historical buildings
    2 Open Spaces
    Information Center
    Urban Garden

    Calligraphy Square
    Urban Fragment: 10,000 sq m

    5 Historical buildings
    1 Open Space

    Art Square Square
    Urban Fragment: 20,000 sq m

    2 Contemporary buildings
    1 Modern building
    2 Historical buildings
    1 Open space

    Off-Site Venues
    The Flying Saucer. AlDasman, Sharjah.
    Kalba Ice Factory. East Coast, Sharjah.

  • Concept

    Sharjah Art Foundation’s new spaces are located in the Heart of Sharjah, a central area that is regarded as a distinct urban representation of
    Sharjah’s built environment cultural identity. SAF Art Spaces is an urban development project with an adaptive re-use approach. The buildings
    dialogue with both the existing physicality of the urban fragment as well as its history and past use in order to reactivate the area and invigorate the reception of contemporary art, which is befitting within the culturally rich, multi-layered urban context.

    The project offers five exhibition buildings, which provide a range of interiors to experience art along with a variety of exterior spaces including courtyards, alleyways, open squares and an inter-connected roofscape. Without being spatially or programmatically overly determined, each exhibition building has a pronounced spatial quality, scale, and lighting characteristic, producing a spectrum of more contextualized or more abstracted frameworks for exhibiting and perceiving art.

    In response to the urban context and courtyard typology, the design subtly transforms introverted spaces that in the past supported private residential life around the courtyard into more fluid spaces that make provision for a communal social and spatial experience around contemporary art.

    On a conceptual level and in an attempt to retain the place’s historic footprint, the project reinterprets pre-existing or documented architectural traces within the plot and readapts historic architectural elements and materiality to new uses and conditions. The intention is to balance the creation of open, and fluid contemporary spaces with a celebration of unique traditional urban characteristics. The revived traditional aspects of the architecture include thick peripheral walls, meandering alleys and reintegrated rooftops, which were once inhabited outdoor residential spaces. The roof becomes an extension of the urban space providing not only plunging views into alleys, courtyards, and exhibition spaces to intensify the perception of artwork but also provides views across urban layers, with limited vistas of the Creek and Gulf//beyond.

    Artwork is to be encountered in exterior spaces against a reading of the immediate site, the surrounding landmarks and furthermore the extended
    site with its historical layers. The result is an integrated experience that transforms and contextualizes readings of both artwork and site.


    •Text exerted from concept statement written by Mona El-Mousfy, Senior architect, SAF architectural consultant and client representative, Sharmeen Syed, Architect and researcher and Godwin Austen Johnson, Architecture and Engineering Consultant.