متروبوليس (لقطة من الفيلم)، 1927

فريتز لانغ
متروبوليس (لقطة من الفيلم)
1927
فيديو رقمي بالأبيض والأسود
153 دقيقة
بإذن من فيلمز سانز فرونتيرز

للحجز

احجزوا تذاكركم هنا. لضمان راحة وسلامة الجميع يرجى من الزوار الحجز مسبقاً. لمعرفة المزيد عن إرشاداتنا الجديدة المتعلقة بالصحة والسلامة يرجى الضغط هنا.

نظرة عامة

تنقسم مدينة متروبوليس المستقبلية العظيمة بحدة بين الأثرياء الذين يعيشون حياة رغيدة مرفهة، وطبقة عاملة ترزح تحت وطأة الاستغلال، يتوجب عليها الكدح والعمل مثل الروبوتات. يقع ابن العقل المدبر للمدينة (ابن صاحب المصنع) في حب امرأة من الطبقة العاملة تمضي إلى ترقب ظهور مخلّصٍ ليحلّ الفروقات بين الطبقتين. نتجت عن موقع التصوير الباهر الذي أبدعه لانغ، والمؤثرات الخاصة التي وظفها ببراعة، صور عصية على النسيان، وتحديداً ناطحات السحاب الضخمة التي تهيمن على أفق مدينة متروبوليس.

أشاد معهد الفيلم البريطاني بالفيلم، وعلّق قائلاً: "لقد أحدثت رؤية فريتز لانغ الملحمية عن مدينة مستقبلية يكدح فيها العمال تحت تسلّط المشرفين عليهم، تأثيراً هائلاً على صناعة أفلام الخيال العلمي".

وفقاً للناقد الأميركي روجر إيبرت: "يعد متروبوليس أحد أعظم إنجازات عصر السينما الصامتة، فهو عمل جريء جداً في رؤيته وغاضب جداً في رسالته، وهو اليوم، صاحب حضور أقوى مما كان عليه عند صنعه".

منذ انجازه في عام 1927، خضع متروبوليس إلى العديد من التحولات التقنية. ففي العام 1994، وبعد بحث مكثف، ظهرت نسخة معدلة بالأبيض والأسود مدتها 153 دقيقة، بينما كان الفيلم الأصلي مدته 3 ساعات و 30 دقيقة. استفاد الفيلم أيضاً من عملية ترميم في العام 2001 أجرته مؤسسة فريدريش فيلهلم مورناو التي ضمّنت أكثر من 25 دقيقة من اللقطات المكتشفة حديثاً. وفي العام 2008، تمت إضافة نيكيتيف بقياس 16 مم إلى الفيلم عُثر عليه في بوينس آيرس، مما جعل هذه النسخة من متروبوليس قريبة من تحفة لانغ التي أخرجها عام 1927.

تلقى متروبوليس العديد من الجوائز، منها جائزة ساتورن لأفضل إصدار خاص لأقراص "دي في دي/بلو-راي"، من أكاديمية أفلام الخيال العلمي والفنتازيا والرعب، الولايات المتحدة الأميركية (2018)؛ جائزة ساتورن لأفضل إصدار خاص لأقراص "دي في دي كلاسيك"، من أكاديمية أفلام الخيال العلمي والفنتازيا والرعب، الولايات المتحدة الأميركية (2011)؛ وجائزة فيلم العام المرمم من جوائز روندو هاتون لأفلام الرعب الكلاسيكية (2002).

معلومات العرض

متروبوليس (1927)
إخراج: فريتز لانغ
ألمانيا
خيال علمي | 153 دقيقة
صامت مع ترجمة باللغتين العربية والإنجليزية

Metropolis, (still) 1927

Fritz Lang
Metropolis (still)
1927
Digital video, black and white
153 minutes
Courtesy of Films Sans Frontières

Booking information

Book your tickets to this film screening here. A prior reservation is encouraged to ensure the comfort and safety of our community. More information about our new health and safety guidelines can be found here.

Overview

The great future city of Metropolis is sharply divided between the wealthy who live a luxurious life and the working class who are exploited and must work like robots. The son of the city’s mastermind falls in love with a working-class woman who predicts the coming of a saviour to mediate their differences. Lang’s magnificent set pieces and special effects resulted in memorable images, notably the immense skyscrapers that dominate the skyline of Metropolis.

Praising the film, the British Film Institute commented: ‘Fritz Lang’s epic vision of a futuristic city where workers toil for their domineering overseers has proved an immeasurable influence on science-fiction filmmaking.’
According to American critic Roger Ebert, ‘Metropolis is one of the great achievements of the silent era, a work so audacious in its vision and so angry in its message that it is, if anything, more powerful today than when it was made.’

Since its creation in 1927, Metropolis has undergone numerous technical transformations. In 1994, after extensive research, a remastered black and white version of 153 minutes was born, while the original feature was 3 hours and 30 minutes long. The film also benefitted from a 2001 restoration by the Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau Foundation which incorporated more than 25 minutes of newly discovered footage. In 2008, a 16mm negative found in Buenos Aires was added to the film, making this version of Metropolis close to Lang’s 1927 masterpiece.

Metropolis has received several awards, including the Saturn Award for Best DVD/Blu-Ray Special Edition Release, from Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films, USA (2018); Saturn Award for Best DVD Classic Film Release, Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films, USA (2011); and Restoration of the Year award at Rondo Hatton Classic Horror Awards (2002).

Screening Information

Metropolis (1927)
Director: Fritz Lang
Germany
Sci-Fi | 153 minutes
Silent with Arabic and English subtitles