"المبنى الأزرق"، 2015

مروان رشمواي
"المبنى الأزرق"، 2015
خرســانة، حديد، نايلون، تربة وستايروفوم
360x270 سم
بإذن من الفنان

نظرة عامة

يُنظم متحف بونيفانتن وماستريخت ومؤسسة الشارقة للفنون بمناسبة جائزة بونيفانتن للفن المعاصر 2019 معرض "المربعات المائلة". المعرض من تقييم زينب أوز. ويستخدم الفنان الذي فاز بجائزة بونيفانتن للفنون المعاصرة 2019، مواد صناعية مثل الإسمنت والمطاط والقطران والزجاج بغية استقصاء دور التركيبة السكانية والحضرية في الديناميكيات الثقافية المعقدة لمدينة بيروت وتاريخها.

ويجمع بين ثلاثة من أعمال رشماوي التي يسعى من خلالها إلى توثيق التاريخ عبر مواقع بناء حقيقية وهياكل أساسية، ويستخدم الفنان هذه الفضاءات لابتكار استعارات تشير إلى عمليات جارية في إطار علم آثار المدينة، مثل أعمال الحفريات والتنقيب وتثبيت التربة وربما إعادة الإعمار.

تعد سلسلة "المباني" مشروعاً مستمراً مكوناً من خمس منحوتات، تعتمد كل منحوتة على مبانٍ بيروتية توقفت أعمال البناء فيها، متخذةً منها مرجعية، فهذه المباني إما غير منتهية أو تُستخدم الآن لأغراض ووظائف تختلف عن تلك التي بُنيت من أجلها في الأساس. أما السلسلة الثانية "دعائم" فقد بدأ الفنان العمل عليها عام 2014 مع بداية الحرب السورية، حيث أيقظت التغطية الإعلامية في دواخله مشاعر ارتبطت في أعماقه بمدينة بيروت قبل 20 عاماً. وتستند أعمال رشماوي التي تغطي مجموعة واسعة من المواضيع على فساد الأساسات إضافة إلى تجربة السكان التي اختبروا فيها الهجران. بدأت السلسلة الأخيرة في نهاية العام 2018 وما يزال الفنان عاكفاً عليها لتاريخه، وتحمل السلسلة اسم "تطريز"، ويستخدم مروان قياس الوحدات السكنية 5 × 5 سم الشائع لتشكيل تراكيب جديدة وتقديم سرديات بناء وهدم وانقطاع واستمرارية.

يُعرض "مربعات مائلة" في مدينة ماستريخت من 23 مايو لغاية 8 سبتمبر، قبل أن يحط الرحال في مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، حيث سيستقبل زواره من 2 نوفمبر 2019 ولغاية 2 فبراير 2020.

الفنان

Marwan Rechmaoui Blue Building, 2015 Concrete, iron, nylon, soil, Styrofoam 270 x 360 cm Courtesy of the artist

Overview

Sharjah Art Foundation presents Slanted Squares, a solo exhibition of the work of Marwan Rechmaoui organised by the Bonnefanten Museum in Maastricht, the Netherlands, in collaboration with Sharjah Art Foundation. Recipient of the 2019 Bonnefanten Award for Contemporary Art (BACA), Rechmaoui uses industrial materials such as concrete, rubber, tar and glass to investigate the role of demographics and urbanisation within the complex cultural dynamics and history of Beirut.

Curated by Zeynep Öz, the exhibition brings together three bodies of Rechmaoui’s work. He documents history through physical construction sites and foundational structures, and he uses these spaces to generate metaphors for processes that take place as part of the archaeology of a city, such as digging, excavating, stabilising and possibly rebuilding.

‘The Buildings’ series is an ongoing project consisting of five sculptures, each referencing buildings in Lebanon that exist in a state of suspension. The buildings are either unfinished or currently being used for functions other than those originally intended. The second series, ‘Pillars’, was started in 2014 at the beginning of the Syrian war, when media coverage provoked feelings in Rechmaoui that he associated with Beirut 20 years earlier. The large-scale works simultaneously reference the corruption of foundations as well as inhabitants’ experience of abandonment. The last series, begun at the end of 2018 and still ongoing, is ‘Tapestries’, which uses repeating standard 5 x 5 cm building units to form new compositions and introduce narratives of construction, destruction, disruption and continuity.

Slanted Squares is on view in Maastricht from 23 May to 8 September 2019 before travelling to Sharjah Art Foundation, where it will run from 2 November 2019 to 2 February 2020.