يا أيها الأفق (لقطة من الفيلم)، 2018

مجموعة أوتوليث
يا أيها الأفق (لقطة من الفيلم)، 2018
فيديو بصيغة 4 كي، ملون، وناطق؛ 90 دقيقة
بتكليف من باوهاوس إيجينيستا
بإنتاج مشترك مع متحف روبن، بدعم من بروجيكت 88
بإذن من مجموعة أوتوليث ولوكس، لندن
تصوير: مجموعة أوتوليث

نظرة عامة

تجمع مجموعة أوتوليث التي أسسها في لندن كل من أنجاليكا ساجار وكودو إشون طيفاً واسعاً من الأعمال الفنية البارزة، ويقدّم "مجموعة أوتوليث: كائنات وافدة" عرضاً شاملاً لأعمالها من 2011 إلى 2018، تضيء على التزام الفنانين الثابت بالعمل على خلق "خيال علمي موازٍ للحاضر"، عبر الصورة والصوت، بينما تتناول الأفلام - يمكن تصنيفها ما بين النظرية والوثائقية والشعرية والروائية – ومقاطع فيديو عالية الدقة، والأعمال التركيبية متعددة الشاشات، الأزمات العالمية للرأسمالية العنصرية التي أسست لرأسمالية عابرة للقارات.

يشير عنوان المعرض إلى رواية الخيال العلمي "إيكسنوجينيسيس" للكاتبة الأفرو أميركية أوكتافيا بتلر، وهو عنوان جامع لثلاثيتها "فجر" (1987)، "طقوس البلوغ" (1988)، و"إيماغو" (1989). تتألف كلمة "إيكسنوجينيسيس"(العنوان الأصلي للمعرض) من اقتران البادئة اليونانية "إيكسونس" (xenos) بمعنى كائن غريب أو فضائي مع اللاحقة (genesis) التي تعني الأصل أو الجيل. ينقل هذا الاجتراح اللفظي الجديد لبتلر انشغال إشون وساجار العميق والمديد بوعد وتهديد فكرة التحول إلى كائن وافد غريب.

ويعكس أحدث عمل في المعرض بعنوان "يا أيها الأفق" (2018) شكلأً معاصراً من إرث جامعة فيسفا بهاراتي المتأسسة عام 1919 في سانتينيكيتان، غرب البنغال، على يد الشاعر رابندرانات طاغور، المعروف برؤيته الطليعية والاستشرافية في الفن والشعر والفلسفة. إلى جانب بتلر وطاغور، تقدم مقطوعة الموسيقي الأفرو أميركي الطليعي يوليوس إيستمان دوافع إنجاز العمل التركيبي "الجزء الثالث من المقياس الثالث" (2017) الذي أهداه ساجار وإيشون لذكرى صديقهما مارك فيشر وحركة "من أجل حياة السود".

عُرضت أعمال "مجموعة أوتوليث: كائنات وافدة" للمرة الأولى في متحف فان آبي في أيندهوفن في مايو 2019، من تقييم آني فليتشر. وتولى تنظيم هذا المعرض في الشارقة كل من متحف فان آبي ومؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، وهو من تقييم مشترك بين آني فليتشر مدير المتحف الأيرلندي للفن الحديث، وحور القاسمي رئيس مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، بينما صمم عمارة المعرض الأصلي استوديو ديوغو باسارينهو.

افتتح المعرض خلال 2020 في معهد الفن المعاصر، ريتشموند (2020)؛ غاليري جنوب ألبرتا للفنون، ليثبريدج (2020)، كندا، وبوكستون كنتيمبروري، ملبورن (2020). وسينتقل المعرض - بعد إقامته في الشارقة - إلى متحف ميتلكوفا للفن المعاصر، ليوبليانا في 2021/2022 (سيتم تأكيد التواريخ) والمتحف الأيرلندي للفن الحديث، دبلن، في 2022.

مواضيع ذات صلة

مجموعة أوتوليث: كائنات وافدة

مجموعة أوتوليث

تنتج مجموعة أوتوليث التي أسسها كل من كودو إشون وأنجاليكا ساجار، الأفلام والأعمال التركيبية والصوتية والعروض الأدائية.

الرعاة

الشريك الذهبي

O Horizon (still), 2018

The Otolith Group
O Horizon (still), 2018
Original format 4K video with colour and sound; 90 minutes
Commissioned by bauhaus imaginista and co-produced with the Rubin Museum, with kind support of Project 88
Courtesy of The Otolith Group and LUX, London
Photo: The Otolith Group

Overview

Xenogenesis brings together a selection of key works by the The Otolith Group, the London-based art collective consisting of Anjalika Sagar and Kodwo Eshun. This cross-section of works, created between 2011 and 2018, reflects the artists’ ongoing commitment to creating what they call ‘a science fiction of the present’ through the use of images, voices, sounds and performance. Suspended between fiction, poetry, documentary and theory, The Otolith Group’s post-cinematic films, high definition videos and multiple screen installations address the global crises of the Racial Capitalocene that have shaped contemporary planetary capitalism.

The title of the exhibition references the African-American science fiction novelist Octavia Butler’s legendary Xenogenesis trilogy which opens with Dawn (1987), continues with Adulthood Rites (1988) and concludes with Imago (1989). The term Xenogenesis conjoins the Greek prefix xenos meaning strange or alien with the suffix genesis meaning origin or generation. Butler’s neologism informs Eshun and Sagar’s longstanding preoccupation with the promise and threat of the idea of alien becoming.

The most recent work in Xenogenesis, O Horizon (2018), is a portrait of Visva Bharati University, which was established in 1919 in Santiniketan, West Bengal, by the polymath Rabindranath Tagore. Alongside Butler and Tagore, the music of the African-American avant-garde composer Julius Eastman, provides the raison d’etre for the installation The Third Part of the Third Measure (2017) dedicated by Sagar and Eshun to the memory of their friend Mark Fisher and the Movement for Black Lives.

Xenogenesis was first shown at the Van Abbemuseum in Eindhoven in May 2019, and was curated by Annie Fletcher. Its presentation in Sharjah is organised by Van Abbemuseum and Sharjah Art Foundation and co-curated by Annie Fletcher, Director, Irish Museum of Modern Art and Hoor Al Qasimi, Director, Sharjah Art Foundation. Original exhibition architecture designed by Diogo Passarinho Studio.

Xenogenesis was on view at the Institute for Contemporary Art, Richmond (2020), Southern Alberta Art Gallery, Lethbridge (2020), and Buxton Contemporary, Melbourne (2020) Following its presentation in Sharjah, the exhibition will travel to the Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkove , Ljubljana in 2021/2022 (dates to be confirmed) and the Irish Museum for Modern Art, Dublin, in 2022.

Related Content

The Otolith Group: Xenogenesis

The Otolith Group

Founded by Kodwo Eshun and Anjalika Sagar, The Otolith Group creates films, installations, audio works and performances.

Sponsors

Gold Sponsor