سيرة ذاتية

أميرة حسناوي أكاديمية وباحثة وناشطة تهدف أعمالها إلى إثارة النقاشات حول بعض الممارسات الموسيقية المهمشة، وخاصة الموسيقى الروحية التي تستخدمها مختلف المجتمعات في تونس بهدف العلاج. ومن خلال نشر الوعي بهذه الممارسات.

حسناوي مساعدة في شؤون التدريس بدرجة مشارك في جامعة كاليفورنيا، لوس أنجلوس، ومحرّرة "أوفاهامو: مجلة الدراسات الأفريقية"، وهي أيضاً عضو لجنة، ومنسقة سلسلة ندوات الدراسات العليا لجامعة كاليفورنيا في لوس أنجلوس لبرنامج "تشو أون ذيس" الذي يوفر مساحة لطلاب الدراسات العليا لعرض أعمالهم الفنية والأكاديمية.


حاضرت حسناوي في العديد من الجامعات الأميركية، وعرضت أعمالها في المؤتمرات وورش العمل في المهرجان الدولي للفن النسوي (شوفتهنّ) تونس (2018)؛ جمعية الفولكلور الأميركية (2016)؛ فرع ميدويست من جمعية علم الموسيقى العرقية (2016) ومؤتمر راي براون للثقافة الشعبية (2016)، وغيرها. تم انتخابها رئيسة لمجلس شيوخ الخريجين، وتجمع الخريجات في جامعة بولينج غرين ستيت (2016-2017). عملت أيضاً كرئيس مشارك لسلسلة ندوات الثقافة الشعبية بالجامعة، وكانت عضواً في لجنة التنوع والتضمين (2016-2017).

حصلت حسناوي على جائزة ستودارد أونيل للأبحاث، من جامعة بولينغ غرين ستيت (2016)، وتم اختيارها كمساعد لتعليم اللغة الأجنبية من فولبرايت من قبل وزارة الخارجية الأميركية للتدريس في جامعة ويسكونسن ماديسون (2014).

حصلت على درجة الماجستير في اللغة الإنجليزية والأدب والحضارة من المعهد العالي للعلوم الإنسانية، تونس (2014) ودرجة الماجستير في الدراسات الثقافية النقدية من قسم الثقافة الشعبية، جامعة بولينغ غرين ستيت (2017). وهي تسعى حالياً للحصول على درجة الدكتوراه في جامعة كاليفورنيا.

حسناوي من مواليد 1988 في تونس، تعيش وتعمل في لوس أنجلوس.

المشاركة في مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون:
مؤتمر معازف للموسيقى العربية (2019).

مواضيع ذات صلة

أميرة حسناوي

مؤتمر معازف للموسيقى العربية

يجتمع أبرز الكتّاب والموسيقيين والنقاد للنظر في عدد من الأسئلة الملحّة المتعلقة بالموسيقى العربية اليوم في مؤتمر معازف للموسيقى العربية، والذي يقام على مدار يومين في مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون بالشارقة.

Biography

Amira Hassnaoui is a scholar, activist and researcher whose work aims to incite discussions on certain marginalised music practices, mainly trance healing music performed by various communities in Tunisia. By bringing awareness to these practices, she strives to advocate for these forms of art to be recognised academically and artistically.

Hassnaoui is an associate teaching assistant at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) and an editor at Ufahamu: A Journal of African Studies. She is also a committee member and coordinator of the UCLA graduate symposium series Chew on This, a programme that provides space for graduate students to present their artistic, academic and choreographic work.

Hassnaoui has lectured at several US universities and presented her work in conferences and workshops at the Chouftouhonna Tunis International Feminist Art Festival (2018); American Folklore Society (2016); Midwest Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology (2016) and Ray Browne Popular Culture Conference (2016), among others. She was elected President of the Graduate Student Senate and the Graduate Women’s Caucus at Bowling Green State University (2016–2017). She also served as co-chair for the university’s Popular Culture Colloquium Series and was a member of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee (2016–2017).

Hassnaoui received the Stoddard O’Neil Fund Thesis Research Award, Bowling Green State University (2016) and was selected as a Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant by the U.S. Department of State to teach at the University of Wisconsin-Madison (2014).

She received a master’s degree in English literature and civilisation from the Superior Institute of Human Sciences, Tunis (2014) and a second master’s degree in critical cultural studies from the Department of Popular Culture, Bowling Green State University (2017). She is currently pursuing a PhD at UCLA.

Born in 1988 in Tunis, Hassnaoui lives and works in Los Angeles.

SAF participation:
Ma3azef Symposium on Arabic Music (2019)

Related Content

Hassnaoui, Amira

Ma3azef Symposium on Arabic Music

Ma3azef and Sharjah Art Foundation have invited leading writers, musicians and critics to consider a number of pressing questions pertaining to Arabic music today.