Gregory Dargent, 'H' II-VI, 2017. 35mm, 5 digital prints; 45 x 30 cm. Installation view: Vantage Point Sharjah 7, Sharjah Art Foundation, Sharjah, 2019. Photo: Sharjah Art Foundation


Vantage Point Sharjah 7 (VPS7) is the seventh iteration of Sharjah Art Foundation’s annual photography initiative. This year, VPS7 is broadening its range, for the first time, the open call is being extended not only to residents of the UAE and other GCC countries but also to international applicants. This initiative aims to foster photographers’ development and creativity and encourage their engagement with the wider cultural community.

Over 200 applicants with a variety of professional backgrounds, skill sets and interests, responded to VPS7 open call. The exhibition features the work of 36 photographers from over 20 countries, including Republic of Congo, France, Nigeria, Sudan, Russia, South Africa, United States of America and the United Arab Emirates among others. The selected photographs offer viewers a unique perspective on various subjects by using different styles, such as conceptual photography, street photography, land and cityscapes and portraiture. These images further demonstrate a wide range of techniques in both digital and 35mm photography, such as montage, collage, archival reconstruction, infrared and light painting.

The foundation announced its first open call for submissions during the summer of 2013, inviting GCC-based photographers to submit works that fell under the theme ‘Life and Landscapes of Sharjah’. Themes of other Vantage Point exhibitions have included ‘Self-Portraiture’, ‘Performance’ and ‘Architecture and Urban Landscape’.
Participating artists for Vantage Point Sharjah 7:

Huda Abdulmughni
Hussam Ahmed
Majd Alloush
Mahra Almheiri
Moath Alofi
Mohamed Altoum
Ali Abbas Azhar
Rana Al Baba
Salih Basheer
Olgaç Bozalp
Gregory Dargent
Raoof Dashti
Emmanuel Koto Kongogbi Eko
Hana Gamal
Saif Hussein
Ron John
Oli Kellett
Hanan Hassan Al-Khalifa
M'hammed Kilito
Nedim Kufi
Mahshid Mahboubifar
Firoz Mahmud
Lakin Ogunbanwo
Logo Oluwamuyiwa
Amine Oulmakki
Rachid Ouettassi
Thania Petersen
Christopher Revelle
Aron Rossman-Kiss
Shubho Saha
Abeer Abdelmonaim Sdieg
Marwan Tahtah
Oliver Tooke
Olga Vorobyova
Zakaria Wakrim
Bahar Yürükoğlu