نظرة عامة

أطلق معهد أفريقيا في الشارقة، بالتعاون مع هيئة الشارقة للمتاحف، ومؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، معرضاً افتراضياً للفنانة الفوتوغرافية الإثيوبية عايدة مولوني بعنوان "العودة للوطن: رحلة في التصوير الفوتوغرافي" في متحف الشارقة للفنون. يعد هذا المعرض جزءاً من موسم إثيوبيا في معهد أفريقيا، وهو الأول لأعمال مولوني في الشارقة.

ويشتمل المعرض على جزأين، يستعرض الأول عبر مجموعة من الأعمال الإبداعية، رحلة الفنانة مولوني وعودتها إلى موطنها بعد غياب دام لسنوات، بداعي الدراسة والعمل الفني في أميركا الشمالية، حيث يقدم مجموعة منتقاة من الصور، اختارها وقيّمها الدكتور صلاح حسن، مدير معهد أفريقيا في الشارقة إلى جانب سطعان الحسن كقيّم مشارك.

أما الجزء الثاني من المعرض بعنوان "مهرجان أديس فوتو – استطلاع تسع سنوات"، فهو من تقييم الفنانة عايدة مولوني، ومخصص لأعمال المصورين الأفارقة المعاصرين، وتم عرضه سابقاً في مهرجان أديس فوتو، المهرجان الدولي الأول والوحيد للتصوير الفوتوغرافي في شرق أفريقيا، والذي يقام كل عامين في أديس أبابا في إثيوبيا، وكانت مولوني أطلقته في عام 2010.


يتضمن المعرض، الذي كان مقرراً استمراره لغاية 30 مايو 2020، مجموعـة مختـارة مـن الصـور الفوتوغرافيـة الـتي تعكس تاريـخ وتطور التصوير الإثيـوبي الحديـث والمعـاصر، بالإضافـة إلى مجموعـة مختـارة من أعمال المصورين الأفارقـة المعاصريـن الآخريـن الذيـن تـم عرض أعمالهـم أو تكليفهم بأعمال كجزء من أنشـطة مهرجان أديس فوتو خلال العقد الماضي.

ولدت مولوني في إثيوبيا عام 1974، وغادرت بلادها في سن مبكرة، لتعيش طفولتها متنقلة بين اليمن وقبرص وإنجلترا. درست السينما في جامعة هوارد في واشنطن العاصمة، واستقرت أخيراً في كندا عام 1985. عادت إلى إثيوبيا في عام 2007. بعد التخرج من جامعة هوارد،. عملت مولوني مصورة صحفية في واشنطن بوست. تقيم حالياً وتعمل بين أديس أبابا، إثيوبيا، وأبيدجان، ساحل العاج.

مشاهدة المعرض

بسبب الإجراءات الوقائية المتعلقة بوباء فيروس كورونا المستجد "كوفيد-19"، تم إغلاق متحف الشارقة للفنون أمام الجمهور. يمكن للجمهور المهتم بهذا المعرض الاستمتاع بجولة افتراضية عبر هذا الرابط.

Water Life: Knowing the way Tomorrow, 2018

Aïda Muluneh
Water Life: Knowing the way Tomorrow, 2018
Photograph
© Aïda Muluneh
Used with permission

Overview

Sharjah Art Foundation, The Africa Institute and Sharjah Art Museum present Homebound: A Journey in Photography, a two-part exhibition about the work and career of acclaimed artist and photographer Aïda Muluneh. Part of The Africa Institute’s Ethiopia season, this exhibition is the first presentation of Muluneh’s work in Sharjah.

Curated by Salah M. Hassan, Director of The Africa Institute, with Sataan Al-Hassan as associate curator, the first part of the exhibition chronicles Muluneh’s journey as an artist and photojournalist and her multiple contributions to image-making since her return to her homeland Ethiopia after years of living, studying and working in North America.

The second part of the exhibition, titled ‘Addis Foto Fest: Nine Years Survey’ and curated by Muluneh, selectively recounts the evolution of the Addis Foto Fest (AFF), which she founded in 2010. AFF is a biennial event held in Addis Ababa and the first and only international photography festival in East Africa.

Homebound: A Journey in Photography, running until 30 May 2020, features several series of Muluneh’s photographic works on a variety of themes as well as a selection of other contemporary African photographs that have been exhibited and/or commissioned by AFF over the past decade.

Born in 1974 in Ethiopia, Muluneh left the country at a young age and spent an itinerant childhood between Yemen, Cyprus, and England. She studied film at Howard University in Washington, DC, and finally settled in Canada in 1985. She returned to Ethiopia in 2007. Muluneh has worked for a while as photojournalist for The Washington Post. She currently lives and works between Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and Abidjan, Ivory Coast.
This exhibition is free and open to the public.

Visiting hours

The museum is open 8:00 am–8:00 pm, Saturday to Thursday, and 4:00 pm–8:00 pm on Friday.