منير في الاستديو الخاص بها، طهران، 1975

نظرة عامة

تقيم مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون، بالتعاون مع المتحف الإيرلندي للفن الحديث، المعرض الاستعادي "غروب، شروق"، الذي يضم أعمال الفنانة الراحلة منير شهرودي فارمنفرمايان التي تعدّ من إحدى أهم الفنانات في إيران في عصرها، كما يرصد المعرض مسيرتها الفنية التي امتدت لأكثر من ستة عقود.

ولدت فارمنفرمايان عام 1924 في قزوين بإيران، وانتقلت إلى نيويورك عام 1945 لدراسة الفن والأزياء، وخلال تلك الفترة، جمعتها صداقة مع فنانين من أمثال فرانك ستيلا وآندي وارهول. وفي عام 1957 عادت إلى إيران؛ وبعد اندلاع الثورة الإيرانية عام 1979، غادرت مجدداُ واستقرّت في نيويورك. وأتيحت لها العودة عام 2004 إلى إيران، حيث استعادت مكانتها في المشهد الفني الإيراني.

يمزج معرض "غروب، شروق" بين الثقافات والتواريخ الشرقية والغربية، ويستكشف مزيجاً من التقنيات الفارسية والتجريد الغربي المعاصر. يقدّم المعرض أكثر من 70 عملاً يجمع بين الرسم والنحت وتصاميم المجوهرات، إلى جانب الأعمال الورقية والكولاج. كما يتضمن أعمالاً مثل دون عنوان 4 (2017) ودون عنوان (2012)، بالإضافة إلى أعمال فنية تعكس أسلوب فارمنفرمايان الخاص.

معرض "غروب، شروق" من تنظيم المتحف الإيرلندي للفن الحديث، بالتعاون مع مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون.

الفنانة

منير شهرودي فارمنفرمايان: غروب، شروق

منير شهرودي فارمنفرمايان

لال مسيرتها الفنية الطويلة، أنجزت منير شهرودي فارمنفرمايان أعمالاً وثيقة الصلة بتاريخ فن الموزاييك الإيراني على الزجاج والمرايا، وهي حرفة تنتقل تقليدياً من جيل إلى جيل.

Monir in her studio, Tehran, 1975

Overview

Sharjah Art Foundation, in collaboration with IMMA, presents Sunset, Sunrise, a retrospective exhibition of works by the late artist Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian. With a career spanning more than six decades, Farmanfarmaian is considered to be one of the most important Iranian artists of her time.

Farmanfarmaian was born in Qazvin, Iran in 1924. She moved to New York in 1945 to study art and fashion, and during her time there she formed friendships with fellow artists such as Frank Stella and Andy Warhol. In 1957, she returned to Iran, however, after the Iranian Revolution of 1979 Farmanfarmaian found herself exiled to New York. She was able to return to Iran in 2004, where she regained her place in the Iranian art scene.

Sunset, Sunrise represents the merging of Eastern and Western cultures and histories. The exhibition investigates the combination of Persian techniques and contemporary Western abstraction. More than seventy works will be on display ranging from painting, sculpture and jewellery to work on paper and collages. Works such as Untitled 4 (2017) and Untitled (2012), together with her signature mirrored pieces, will be included in the show.

Sunset, Sunrise is organised by IMMA, Irish Museum of Modern Art, Ireland, in collaboration with Sharjah Art Foundation, UAE.

Artist

Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian: Sunset, Sunrise

Farmanfarmaian, Monir Shahroudy

Throughout her long career, Monir Shahroudy Farmanfarmaian has created work with a strong connection to the history of Iranian reverse-glass painting and mirror mosaics, a craft traditionally passed on from father to son.