البقعة الصفراء (فيديو بلقطات ثابتة) ، 2011. فيديو تركيبي أحادي الشاشة، فيلم ملون 35 ملم، فيديو عالي الجودة مع صوت محيطي 5.1 دولبي؛ 29 دقيقة و43 ثانية. بإذن من الفنانة. © زارينا بهيمجي. جميع الحقوق محفوظة. جمعية حقوق التصميم والفنانين 2020

نظرة عامة

تمحورت أعمال زارينا بهيمجي طوال ثلاثين عاماً حول صياغة تساؤلاتها على هيئة صورة وضوء ومادة، بمواضيع تشمل العالمي والمادي والمجرّد، وتهدف مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون من خلال هذا الاستقصاء إلى عرض مجموعة من أعمال الفنانة الإبداعية من أفلام وصور فوتوغرافية وأعمال تركيبية. ويقدّم المعرض أوائل استكشافات الفنانة حول أشكال المعرفة التي تنسلخ عن النظم المكرسة، إلى جانب دراستها اللاحقة للون والمكان والمشاعر الإنسانية والبداهة البشرية. ترى مشاريع الفنانة النور بعد أبحاث مضنية ورحلات ميدانية، تستوطن فيها عبر ممارساتها مختلف المواقع بعاطفة متقدّة، ليصبح كل موقع منها بمثابة استوديو خارجي خالٍ من السكان والمارّة، وينساق عملها النابع من الغموض والرصد على الوعي السياسي العميق، والكئيب أحياناً، تجاه لحظات معينة.


تمثل أفلام زارينا وصورها الفوتوغرافية تكوينات من الضوء والظل والنسيج والصوت، معتمدة في ذلك على استخدام الكاميرا كأداة تصويرية ذاتية، في حين تمثل أفلامها "فجأة" (2002) و"البقعة الصفراء" (2011) و"جانغبار" (2015) محور هذا المعرض، لتثير من خلال صورها المتعددة مجموعة من الأسئلة حول كيف نفهم أنفسنا في مختلف الفترات الزمنية؟ والأهم من ذلك، كيف نتناول ونعيد التفكير في زماننا أو الزمن الذي يتجاوز تجربتنا المباشرة؟

سواء كان العمل فيلماً أحادي القناة أو عملاً تركيبياً، ترسم أعمال زارينا حيزاً مكانياً للمواقف والاشارات والحركات، فاسحة المجال أمام العاطفة لتتجلّى مستقلة بذاتها، لتأسر المشاهد وتتردد كالصدى بين الأرواح الساكنة في مكان العرض. ويخلق التكرار الذي تعتمده للكلمات والأنسجة تنافراً بين الصوت والصورة، إما من خلال اللقطات البانورامية البطيئة للغابات الخصبة، أو الصور الثابتة للمباني العمرانية الخاوية، أو الأختام والطوابع على المستندات الرسمية، راسمة بذلك أمامنا لحظة من البداهة المطلقة مرة تلو الأخرى.

المعرض من تقييم حور القاسمي رئيس مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون.

مواضيع ذات صلة

زارينا بهيمجي

زارينا بهيمجي

ترتبط الممارسة الفنية لزارينا بهيمجي مع مسائل القوة وقابلية التأثر والعالمية والألفة في المؤسسات، وذلك من خلال الوسائط المتنوعة للتصوير الفوتوغرافي والأفلام والأعمال التركيبية.

Yellow Patch, 2011

Zarina Bhimji
Yellow Patch, 2011
Single screen installation; 35mm colour film, HD transfer with Dolby 5.1 surround sound, 29 min 43 sec
© Zarina Bhimji
All Rights Reserved, DACS/Artimage 2020

Book your tickets to this exhibition here. Tickets are complimentary; however, reservation is required to ensure the comfort and safety of our community. More information about our new health and safety guidelines can be found here.

Overview

For over thirty years, Zarina Bhimji’s work has staged enquiry into image, object, sound and language, searching for the universal in both its literal and abstract manifestations. This major survey organised by Sharjah Art Foundation presents a number of the artist’s seminal works across film, photography and installation. The exhibition features the artist’s early exploration into forms of knowledge overlooked by established systems of order as well as her later exploration of architecture and landscape as arbiters of complex experience and emotion. Each project, embarked upon after meticulous research and recce trips spanning weeks at a time, sees Bhimji sympathetically inhabit sites via her practice: every location becomes an open-air studio, cleared of political or historic specificity.

Growing from ambiguity and observation, her work draws on a deep—and, at times, bleak—consciousness of specific moments. In her film works Out of Blue (2002), Yellow Patch (2011) and Jangbar (2015), constituting a central axis of this exhibition, she uses the camera as a subjective, painterly tool. Unfurling across multiple views and lands (Uganda, the United Kingdom, India, Zanzibar and Kenya, among others), the images ask how we can understand ourselves at different points in time. Most importantly, they question how we take up and rethink our own time—or time beyond our direct experience

Whether in immersive single-screen films or installations, Bhimji’s work spatialises attitudes, gestures and movements. Allowing sentiment to stand on its own merit, her work confronts our reliance on written narrative instead, using light, shadow, colour and texture to recall the significance of intuition and cultural inheritance. In slow pans across lush forested landscape, lingering shots of emptied architecture, or stamps and seals on official documents, her compositions of image and object come together to create a cacophony of sound and motion that shape and reshape our understanding of the present moment with quiet immediacy.

This exhibition is curated by Hoor Al Qasimi, Director of Sharjah Art Foundation.

Related Content

Zarina Bhimji: Black Pocket

Bhimji, Zarina

Through the diverse mediums of photography, film and installation, Zarina Bhimji’s practice engages with questions of institutional power and vulnerability, universality and intimacy.